

The Association of Black Psychologists

Elections & Awards Committee

7119 Allentown Road, Suite 203 Ft. Washington, MD 20744 Phone: 301-449-3082 Fax: 301-449-3084

TO: The Distinguished Psychologists of ABPsi

Dr. Na'im Akbar
Dr. Linda James Myers
Dr. Asa Hilliard III (Deceased)
Dr. Reginald Jones (Deceased)
Dr. William Cross
Dr. Carolyn Murray
Dr. Nancy Boyd-Franklin
Dr. Charles Thomas (Deceased)
Dr. Faye Belgrave
Dr. Atty. Paris Finner-Williams (Deceased)
Dr. Hal Fairchild
Dr. Thomas Parham
Dr. James R. Lanier

Dr. Hal Fairchild Dr. Joseph White Dr. Marcia Sutherland Dr. Jerome Taylor Dr. Robert L. Williams Dr. Daudi Azibo Dr. Cheryl Grills Dr. Harold Dent Dr. James M. Jones Dr. Lisa Whitten Dr. Robert Green Dr. Horace Mitchell Dr. Margaret Beale Spencer Dr. Janet E. Helms Dr. Harriett McAdoo(Deceased) Dr. Helen Neville Dr. Shawn Utsey Dr. Kathleen Burlew Dr. Taasogle Daryl Rowe Dr. Anna M. Jackson Dr. Wade W. Nobles Dr. Jacqueline Mattis Dr. Kobi K.K. Kambon Dr. A.J. Franklin Dr. Camara Jules Harrell

FROM: Huberta Jackson-Lowman, Ph.D., ABPsi President and Theopia Jackson, Ph.D., ABPsi

President-Elect and Co-Chairs of the Distinguished Elections & Awards Selection

Committee 2018

RE: Nomination of the 2018 Distinguished Psychologist(s)

Each year, The ABPsi Distinguished Psychologists group selects *two* individuals who will be the recipients of **The Distinguished Psychologist Award** for the current year, one *female* and one *male*. WHILE THIS PRACTICE DOES HAVE A PRECEDENT, IT IS ALSO POSSIBLE FOR YOU TO VOTE FOR TWO FEMALES OR TWO MALES, IF YOU BELIEVE THEM TO BE THE MOST DESERVING OF THIS YEAR'S RECOGNITION. In keeping with that practice, please submit the names and biographical information of two potential nominees. For your nominees to be considered, please review the qualifications to confirm *that they fulfill each of the six criteria listed on the nomination form.* The Elections and Awards Committee members, as designated in the by-Laws, will do the screening, and the Distinguished Psychologists will make their selections from among those that meet the award standards.

Please use the enclosed nomination form to submit the names of your recommended candidates, along with a brief biographical sketch of the nominee. Nominations must be accompanied by biographical information in order to be considered. Your nominations must be submitted by fax, mail or e-mail to the National Office and received no later than April 20, 2018. Once your nominations are received, ballots for voting will be prepared and mailed to you no later than April 20, 2018.

Sincerely,

Huberta Jackson-Lowman, PhD ABPsi President Theopia Jackson, Ph.D. ABPsi President-Elect



The Association of Black Psychologists

Elections & Awards Committee

7119 Allentown Rd., Suite 203 Ft. Washington, Phone: 301-449-3082 Fax: 301-449-3084

Distinguished Psychologist of the Year

Nomination Form

(Please submit a brief biographical sketch with this document)

Nominee (female):
lominated by:
Nominee (female):
Nominated by:
Nominee (male):
lominated by:
Nominee (male):
lominated by:

CRITERIA:

The established criteria for selection into this body of distinguished scholars and clinicians are:

- 1. The individual must be a psychologist, and the holder of a doctorate degree for a minimum of ten (10) years.
- 2. The individual must have generated a minimum of five (5) major publications, one or more major books, or other professional/scholarly documents recognized as significant by The Association.
- 3. The individual must have maintained a viable affiliation, including membership with the Association.
- 4. The individual must have made a significant contribution to African Psychology, The ABPsi, and/or the African community at large.
- 5. The individual must have demonstrated performance over the years which exemplifies the professional and ethical standards of The ABPsi; and
- 6. The individual must have contributed significantly to advancing knowledge in general.

In addition to the above-mentioned criteria, it has been the practice to require the selected person(s) to deliver a 10-15 minute Distinguished Psychologists address at this year's convention.