Member  Login
The Association of Black Psychologists  
7119 Allentown Road, Suite 203  
Ft. Washington, MD 20744  
Phone: 301-449-3082 Fax: 301-449-3084  

Facebook Twitter   Sign-up for Email  

Our History

The Association of Black Psychologists was founded in San Francisco in 1968 by a number of Black Psychologists from across the country. They united to actively address the serious problems facing Black Psychologists and the larger Black community. Guided by the principle of self determination, these psychologists set about building an institution through which they could address the long neglected needs of Black professionals. Their goal was to have a positive impact upon the mental health of the national Black community by means of planning, programs, services, training, and advocacy. Their objectives were:

  • To organize their skills and abilities to influence necessary change, and

  • To address themselves to significant social problems affecting the Black community
    and other segments of the population whose needs society has not fulfilled.

The Association of Black Psychologists has grown from a handful of concerned professionals into an independent, autonomous organization of over 1400 members.

Past Presidents

Presidential terms begin in July or August to coincide with ABPsi Annual Conventions. In 2005 presidential terms of office were extended from one year to two years.
* Deceased

*Charles W. Thomas, Ph.D. (1968-1969)
Robert Green, Ph. D. (1968-1969)
Henry Tomes, Ph. D. (1969-1970)
Robert L. Williams, Ph.D. (1969-1970)
Stanley Crockett, Ph.D. (1970-1971)
Reginald L. Jones, Ph.D. (1971-1972)
James S. Jackson Ph.D. (1972-1973) *Thomas O. Hilliard, Ph.D.(1973-1974)
*George D. Jackson, Ph.D. (1974-1975)
*William Hayes, Ph.D. (1975-1976)
Ruth E.G. King, Ed.D (1976-1977)
Maisha Bennett, Ph.D. (1978-1979)
Joseph Awkard, Ph. D. (1979-1980)
Daniel Williams, Ph.D. (1980-1981)
David Terrell, Ph.D. (1981-1982)

Joseph A. Baldwin, Ph.D. (1982-1983)
*William K. Lyles, Ph.D. (1983-1984)*
W. Monty Whitney, Ph.D. (1984-1985)
Melvin Rogers, Ph. D. (1985-1986)
Halford H. Fairchild, Ph.D. (1986-1987)
Na'im Akbar, Ph.D. (1987-1988)
Dennis E. Chestnut, Ph.D. (1988-1989)
Suzanne Randolph, Ph. D.(1989-1990)
Linda James Myers, Ph.D. (1990-1991)
Timothy R. Moragne, Psy.D. (1991-1992)
Maisha Hamilton Bennett, Ph.D. (1992-1993)
Anna M. Jackson, Ph.D. (1993-1994)
Wade Nobles, Ph.D. (1994-1995)
Thomas A. Parham, Ph.D. (1995-1996)

Frederick B. Phillips, Psy.D. (1996-1997)
Kamau Dana Dennard, Ph.D. (1997-1998)
Afi Samella B. Abdullah, Ph.D. (1998-1999)
Mawiya Kambon, Ph.D. (1999-2000)
Anthony Young, Ph.D.(2000-2001)
Mary E. Hargrow, Ph.D. (2001-2002)
Harvette Grey, Ph.D. (2002-2003)
Willie S. Williams, Ph.D. (2003-2004)
James E. Savage, Ph.D. (2004-2005)
Robert Atwell, Psy.D. (2005-2007)
Dorothy A. Holmes, Ph.D. (2007-2009)
Benson George Cooke, Ed.D. (2009-2011)
Cheryl Tawede Grills, Ph.D. (2011-2013)
Taasogle Daryl Rowe, Ph.D. (2013-2015)
Kevin Washington, Ph.D. (2015-2017)